Life Cycle of Butterflies

There are four stages in the life cycle of a butterfly.

1.  Egg
First, the butterfly lays its eggs onto a leaf.

2. Larva
Then, the egg becomes a caterpillar.  It eats lots of food for almost two weeks, and sheds its skin several times.

3. Pupa
The caterpillar protects itself inside of a chrysalis, or pupa while it becomes a butterfly. 
It can be in the pupa for a couple of days or as many as two years.

4. Adult
Finally, the butterfly hatches from its pupa, and is able to fly.

Return to Top

Fill in the blanks about the stages of a butterfly’s metamorphosis

Play a game about the butterfly’s life cycle

Find out more about Monarch butterflies


Return to Top